Linux Mint 17: Fix “Open In Terminal” in context menu after uninstalling nemo-terminal

On Linux Mint 17, I had previously installed nemo-terminal to integrate the terminal into the file manager. Finally, file manager and terminal integration! or so was my first thought. Later I realized it didn’t meet my needs. When I changed a directory in the terminal section, the file manager GUI did not reflect the same path as the terminal. At least the GUI and the shell stayed in sync.

After I had removed nemo-terminal, I realized that the “Open Terminal Here” in Nemo’s context menu did not open a terminal anymore. I tried to reinstall Nemo, but that didn’t work. After reading through some threads with related issues, I realized that Nemo relies on gnome-terminal which may have been uninstalled with the other package. Installing gnome-terminal fixed the issue!

Hope that helps someone else. I filed an issue on GitHub.

TDLR;
apt-get install gnome-terminal

One thought on “Linux Mint 17: Fix “Open In Terminal” in context menu after uninstalling nemo-terminal

Leave a comment